Gráinne Seoige to host IFTA Awards on Virgin Media One

The Irish Academy of Film and Television is delighted to announce that Gráinne Seoige will host the 2021 Virtual IFTA Awards, broadcast on Virgin Media One, on Sunday, July 4th.e at 10 o’clock in the evening.

Returning from South Africa to Ireland recently, Gráinne is delighted to take the reins of the Virtual IFTA Awards 2021 and host the debates at an evening where Ireland will see the cream of the Irish film community duly recognized for its great achievements in film and drama. .

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Following the success of last year’s Virtual Awards show, which saw international guests such as Martin Scorsese, Liam Neeson, Pierce Brosnan, Daisy Ridley, Ruth Negga, Andrew Scott, Caitriona Balfe, Chris O’Dowd among others participate in the show, the Academy will soon announce the 2021 international guest lineup for this year’s virtual show. The 2021 nominations were announced on Tuesday 15e June.

Following in the footsteps of previous IFTA hosts Deirdre O’Kane, Caroline Morahan, Simon Delaney, Victoria Smurfit, Ryan Tubridy and Jimmy Nesbitt, Gráinne brings with her an incredible range of experience and impeccable style and presentation skills. . She is one of Ireland’s foremost broadcasters, TV presenters and journalists.

She has worked with Virgin Media (and TV3), RTÉ, TG4 and Sky News Ireland, making her the only TV personality to have worked with all four Irish TV channels. Most recently, Gráinne’s guest hosted Virgin Media’s The Six O’Clock and featured a range of TV shows over the years including ‘Seoige’, the ‘All Ireland Talent Show’, ‘ Up for the Match ‘the’ People of the Year ‘Awards’ Gráinne Seoige’s Modern Life’ and ‘Great Irish Journeys’ on the Irish Famine.

Gráinne has also presented three breakfast TV shows in the UK; ITV’s breakfast show “GMTV”; she was editor-in-chief on ‘Daybreak’ and she also presented ‘Sky News Sunrise’ with Eamonn Holmes.

Commenting on the announcement today, IFTA host Gráinne said: “I am absolutely delighted to host the IFTA awards this year. I have watched the Irish industry flourish over the years and have seen with my own eyes how IFTA has championed, nurtured and recognized Irish talent.

It is a true honor to have been invited to host such an incredible awards ceremony, especially in a unique studio environment, and to be part of the celebration of this incredible wealth of Irish film talent.

Irish Film and Television Academy CEO Áine Moriarty welcomed Gráinne to her new role, saying: “We are delighted that Gráinne is taking the helm of this year’s awards ceremony. She’s the real deal, a brilliant spark and such a professional. We are delighted to have him as our host this year with its charm of the west of Ireland and there will undoubtedly be la cúpla focail at night to welcome our guests ”.

The nominees this year are Jessie Buckley, Aisling Franciosi, Ciarán Hinds, Colm Meaney, Clare Dunne, Gabriel Byrne, Lola Petticrew, Brendan Gleeson, Andrew Scott, Fiona Shaw, Nika McGuigan, Nora-Jane Noone, Adrian Dunbar, Niamh Algar, Eve Hewson, Moe Dunford, Catherine Walker, Dervla Kirwan, Fionn O’Shea, Tristan Heanue, Sarah Greene, Seana Kerslake, among others.

This year’s awards will take place in a unique studio setting, and the ceremony will bring Hollywood glitz and glamor to our lounges with a stellar lineup of A-List stars presenting awards.

Bill Malone, Director of Content for Virgin Media Television, said of this year’s awards: “Supporting and championing the best of local television, film and theater is at the heart of what we do at Virgin Media Television. And we’re excited to once again showcase the best of this industry in another year of truly exceptional talent ”.

The Irish film and theater industry has always provided first-rate works to audiences in Ireland and around the world.

Nominations for Best Picture this year include Paddy Slattery’s feature debut Broken Law, an electrifying thriller focusing on two brothers on opposite sides of the energetic law; Dating Amber, David Freyne’s uncompromising yet hilarious coming-of-age story set in ’90s Ireland, driven by the overwhelming chemistry of its protagonists; Herself in which Phyllida Lloyd directs lead actress Clare Dunne’s screenplay, balancing feminine grain and steel with warmth and tenderness to deliver an inspiring and hopeful tale; Vivarium’s ingenious and relentless sci-fi horror Lorcan Finnegan, which delivers thrills and scares and vivid social commentary with the same aplomb; Cathy Brady’s first Wildfire, a powerful and at times shocking exploration of a unique brotherly bond, skillfully explored through the incredible chemistry and performances of Nora-Jane Noone and Nika McGuigan, in what would tragically be her last performance; and Wolfwalkers, Cartoon Saloon’s beautiful, deep, animated Celtic fable, performed in a unique Irish flair to convey a universal and timeless message of empathy and friendship.

Further details on the show and international guest presenters will be announced shortly. Due to Covid-19 restrictions, there will be no physical IFTA awards ceremony until March 2022, in line with Covid guidelines and international best practices.

The 2021 IFTA Awards, hosted by Gráinne Seoige, will air on Virgin Media One at 10 p.m. on Sunday, July 4e.

Source link

About Hannah Schaeffer

Check Also

The Heat Is On As Discovery Goes For Olympic Gold Streaming

Gold isn’t the only medal that matters, whether at the Olympics or the streaming wars, …